CIF Los Angeles City Section

Skip to main content
HAVE A GREAT SUMMER and SAFE TRAVELS ON YOUR VACATIONS!     Follow us on Twitter and Instagram at @CIFLACS and "like" us on     Section Office hours are 8 am - 4:30 pm daily. Closed on Fridays during July.

CIF LA City Section Inducts 44 Honorees Into Hall of Fame

The CIF Los Angeles City Section honored 44 of the greatest high school athletes, coaches and contributors who have performed in interscholastic, intercollegiate, professional, and world class arenas. 

KNBC Sports Anchor Fred Roggin was gracious enough to host as MC and Randy Rosenbloom provided the voice-over for a vignette of each Hall of Fame inductee.

Representing the third CIFLACS Hall of Fame Class to be inducted following the classes of 2011 and 2013, these unique and talented individuals were recognized at an induction ceremony Sunday evening at the Doubletree by Hilton in Culver City. 

“The athletes inducted into the Class of 2015 represent every level of competition and each possesses tremendous qualifications and extraordinary achievements and accomplishments,” Commissioner John Aguirre said. “All have had a significant impact on interscholastic athletics helping to provide a vision or uniqueness that has set new standards of performance and direction; some were trail blazers and others were pioneers that allowed sports enthusiasts to see sports from a new lens.”

The list of honorees is a who’s who in Los Angeles high school sports. Their careers began on the fertile grounds of the LA City Section and flourished domestically and abroad in a wide range of sports and professions.

Notable names included football standouts Jon Arnett (Manual Arts ’53), Charles White (San Fernando ’76) and Coach Jim Mora (University ’53); baseball legends Darryl Strawberry (Crenshaw ’80), Eric Davis (Fremont ’80) and Willie Davis (Roosevelt ’58); basketball stars Curtis Rowe (Fremont ’67), John Williams (Crenshaw ’84) and Coach Denny Crum (San Fernando ’55).    

Swimmer Kristian Quance (Granada Hills ‘92), softball standout Lisa Richardson (Verdugo Hills ‘75), basketball stars Dora Dome (Fairfax ’83) and Charisse Sampson (Washington '92), track and field’s Jodi Anderson (Washington ’76) and recently retired LA City Section Commissioner Barbara Fiege headlined an illustrious group of female recipients.

We wish to thank our sponsors- Reginald Mallard, California Resource Corporation, WSS, Time Warner Cable Community, and Ingraham Trophies and Gifts for their support and contributions to this wonderful event.

All three Hall of Fame classes are listed in the attachments below as well as an amazing gallery of photos taken by Darryl Washburn and the Section staff.

Photo gallery-