CIF Los Angeles City Section

Skip to main content
CONGRATULATIONS to all of our Fall CHAMPIONS!     Follow us on Twitter and Instagram at @CIFLACS and "like" us on     Section Office hours are 8 am - 4:30 pm daily. 

CIF State Model Coach Award Winners Announced

Now in its 15th year, the CIF Model Coach Award program is designed to recognize coaches who have served as positive role models in their schools and communities, and who have exhibited the traits apparent in the 16 principles of Pursuing Victory with Honor. 

A model coach demonstrates and teaches the six core ethical values:  trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and good citizenship (the “Six Pillars of Character”). The CIF believes that the highest potential of sports is achieved when teachers/coaches consciously Teach, Enforce, Advocate and Model (T.E.A.M.) these values and are committed to the ideal of Pursuing Victory with Honor. 

Chris Ancheta of Granada Hills Charter and Garfield’s Jessica Torres are the CIF LA City Section Model Coach Award winners for 2015-16!

Chris Ancheta (Granada Hills Charter High School) Boys Golf

Ancheta has been the boys golf coach at Granada Hills Charter High School for the past 12 years. To many of his student-athletes, Ancheta has been a consistent example of positive adult influence in their life and motivator for success with their academic and athletic accomplishments. He continually strives to improve his teaching practices and challenges his players to perform their best and capture the opportunity for success in life and sports. 

Jessica Torres (Garfield High School) Girls Basketball

Torres has been the head girls basketball coach at Garfield High School since 2007-08 and is also a P.E. teacher. More impressive than her on-court success, she has been able to create an environment of high academic expectations throughout her program. A 1998 alumnus of Garfield, she is well known and respected by the local community organizations as well. 

Congrats to Chris and Jessica!

See attached for all CIF State Section winners-